|It was first opened in 1893, under the name Grunewald Hotel, changed to The Roosevelt in 1923, and then to The Fairmont in 1965. Now, after a $145 million dollar renovation by the Waldorf-Astoria group, it comes back in its grandest incarnation. as "The Roosevelt." For four years after the levee failures, it sat abandoned, its future unsure. But, now, it has been beautifully and meticulously restored to its most glorious era. The Roosevelt re-opened in July, 2009, another piece of New Orleans history brought back to life and better than ever. Long known for its holiday decorations throughout the block-long lobby, The Roosevelt is honoring the tradition and, once again, the lobby is alive with lights. Visiting the luxurious Roosevelt lobby at any time is a grand experience, but, during the holidays, it's a magical experience, as well, and one that's long been a New Orleans tradition. The pictures in the 1st group below were taken from the 1950's - 1980's.